Catania Province – Sicily

The Catania province is located in the eastern side of Sicily, facing the Ionian sea. It has an area of 3,552 km and population of 1, 073,881. The biggest city is Catania, which is also the second biggest city in Sicily after Palermo. There are also other 58 comuni; among these, the bigger ones are Acireale, Paternò, Caltagirone, Misterbianco, Adrano, Aci Catena, Giarre.

The province faces the Ionian Sea to the east, the Province of Messina to the north, the Province of Enna and the Province of Caltanissetta to the west, the Province of Siracusa and the Province of Ragusa to the south.

Map Catania Province

The Catania Province includes very different scenarios, from the sandy beaches of Catania to rocky ones close to Acireale, to the Mt. Etna, the highest active volcano in Europe.

It is served by the Vincenzo Bellini – Fontanarossa airport in Catania.